Galerie Historischer Keller

Carl-Schurz-Straße 49, 13597, Berlin

A place that has grown over centuries The historic cellar belonged to a patrician house, which can be traced back to 1464. In it lived successively particularly resident families of the city of Spandau, including some mayors. In the 18th century it was converted into a palace for the royal regimental commanders and remained mainly associated with the person of Prince Henry of Prussia. After that, the building served as an inn and court until it was destroyed by a bombing in 1944. In the 1950s, the remains were removed and the cellar was filled. It was not until 1987, when the demolition of the new building, which housed a cinema and a food market, took place, that the cellar was rediscovered. It was examined archaeologically and was preserved in the new building of the residential building, so that it can now be used as a very special art gallery.